Liefman’s Goudenband

Posted on

beer_4663This one is another step deeper down the rabbit hole that is Sours.

Of the Sour red / browns I have tried so far, most have a mild tartness offset with a nice sweetness on the lips.  Goudenband was the first that was straight up sour.  Still nothing lip puckering but different.

This was a 2011 750ml bottle. Pouring a dark ruby-red with a small light brown head, the initial nose was of dark cherry and maybe some balsamic vinegar.  The head faded rather quick.

The taste  was of tart cherries, apple, leather, and a hint of yeasty bread.  I found the alcohol presence rather forward with this one.  Very dry with a good malt base.

It was perfectly balanced out, no bitterness to speak of, making for an easy drinking experience.  No issue with finishing the bottle by myself, and only makes me more excited to give  Duchesse a go next.

 

7 thoughts on “Liefman’s Goudenband

    yeastismybitch said:
    September 15, 2013 at 2:07 am

    I think you’ll like Duchesse (if it’s Duchesse de Borgogne your talking about). I reviewed it some time back and would be interested to hear what you think about it. I really liked it. Cheers, Jon.

      Bierbattered responded:
      September 15, 2013 at 7:52 am

      yup Duchesse de Borgogne. I will probably give it a go this week or next!

    ithinkaboutbeer said:
    September 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    I haven’t had this beer in years. I need to pick up a bottle and re-address it! Myself, I’m a bigger fan of the Rodenbach beers over the Duchesse. I find them to be more refined.

      Bierbattered responded:
      September 15, 2013 at 2:44 pm

      I had the normal Rodenbach (not grand cru) and it was the better of the Flanders red/ browns I had tried. Liefmans was a touch better as it was not as sweet on the lips i think. I did see a Hanssens Experimental Oude Gueuze that caught my eye.. so one of them will be next on the list 🙂

        ithinkaboutbeer said:
        September 15, 2013 at 2:48 pm

        The Hanssens Experimental series is pretty extreme on the sour factor. I had their raspberry, and it was almost too much for me. Maybe stick with the regular Hanssens. Boon is my preference on Geuzes. They’re very balanced and elegant.

          Bierbattered responded:
          September 15, 2013 at 2:54 pm

          Have yet to see a boon. I have had the regular oude Gueuze and have Kriek Gueuze in the Fridge. Kinda want to try an uber sour, seeing has how I doubt I will ever get my hands on a not insanely priced Cantillon.

          Nothing I have tried yet has been pucker your lips sour for me.

    […] Liefman’s Goudenband (bierbattered.com) […]

Leave a Reply

