Hanssens Oude Kriek – All the Sour none of the Sweet

Posted on Updated on

beer_5114Before opening this bottle (not sure of the vintage on this one) I was expecting it to be similar to their Oude Gueuze I had reviewed earlier  – a little funky, a little skunky, but overall dry and refreshing.

I could not have been more wrong with that assumption.

The Pour: Oude Kriek poured a deep ruby-red, with a thick bubbly white head, which faded down to a thin head that lasted the whole glass.  Lacing was somewhat minor, clinging slightly to the glass between sips.  Carbonation was fairly light.

Nose: Sour, a little cherry,  maybe a hint of vinegar.

Taste: Straight up sour, with a hint of dark cherry on the back-end.  This has none of the slight sweetness that Oude Gueuze had.  It is still very balanced but there is no extra sweetness here.  It is very light on the mouth, extremely complex. No real alcohol presence.

Of the Belgian sours I have had, this is one of my favorites, especially perfect for this time of year.  I would not try to tackle this as a first sour, but if you are a fan of the style this is a must try.

So this wraps up this weekends review of Kriek forward Sours. I hope you enjoyed the trip.  I am not sure what we will find for the next one, I need to go further down the Rabbit hole and see what I can unearth next!

7 thoughts on “Hanssens Oude Kriek – All the Sour none of the Sweet

    awoni3 said:
    September 16, 2013 at 8:48 am

    Good review! What did you have with it? I never know which snack to have with a super sour like this one!

      Bierbattered responded:
      September 16, 2013 at 8:51 am

      Thanks! With this one, nothing just the beer. I am thinking maybe Cheese (like a soft goat cheese)? Fruit I could definitely see complimenting it, apples or dried Cranberries and some walnuts.

    beerbecue said:
    September 16, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I love this and their Oude Gueueueueueuze. They are definitely sharp muthas, though. And I love the old, moldy cheese thing that the gueuze has going on (like the cheese with the nasty looking rid). But I could not hang with their Oudbeitje (strawberry). The underripe strawberry tartness and lack of carbonation killed me. The sour was too damn high!

      Bierbattered responded:
      September 16, 2013 at 2:28 pm

      It was an interesting interplay with the funky skunky Oude Gueuze not like LH’s Collette which was just dank wet haylike funk

    awoni3 said:
    September 16, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Hmm… You made me think. Maybe the acid can be cut with honey. Like maybe a fruity goat’s cheese on toast with honey.

      Bierbattered responded:
      September 16, 2013 at 7:08 pm

      I had a salad of goat cheese cranberrys & candied walnuts with a balsamic reduction dressing. Went perfectly with the Lidenman’s Cuve Rene. Not super sour, but I can see it working with anything I have tried so far.

    properpour said:
    September 17, 2013 at 11:54 am

    Reblogged this on Proper_Pour.

Leave a Reply

