Finally got a 6 pack of DuClaw Sweet Baby Jesus! But was it worth the wait?

Posted on

https://i1.wp.com/www.duclaw.com/images/beer/beerlogo_big_sbj.jpg

Of all of the waiting to get my hands on items I have seen, this was the one I had the most hope for. Everyone I know who has had it, has loved it, and raved about its peanut butter goodness.

Then the news comes: It will finally be shipping to NJ.  Well NJ in anything south of Morris County.. For a month that was where it stood.  the great wall separating North Jersey from the rest of the beer friendly state.  Well that still has not changed, but my southerner living family brought me up a six-pack.

I could not wait to crack one open.  Greeted by a nice nose of roasty Peanut Butter,  I thought to myself, this was going to be great.

Sipping it though…  well it wasn’t sweet and was kind of roasty,  I will give it that..  but where was the golden elixir everyone spoke of?  It was only OK at best, certainly not at that top levels of a porter to garner such praise.

The bottles are fresh, but, alas, it seems that this is one of those beers that is best served on draft. I will give it a go that way if and when I see it on tap, just to see how different it is.

In the end I am very glad I got to try it finally, but am happy I did not have to travel to do it.

5 thoughts on “Finally got a 6 pack of DuClaw Sweet Baby Jesus! But was it worth the wait?

    dasalehaus said:
    January 7, 2014 at 9:31 am

    I was thoroughly unimpressed with SBJ out of a bottle, but must say the peanut butter is much more pronounced on draft. I’m not a big fan of peanut butter and was more trying it for the novelty, but give it a shot on tap if you see it.

    limelove08 said:
    January 7, 2014 at 10:02 am

    I’m glad I bought this when I first saw it. Didn’t realize it was such a hot commodity!

    mouldsbeerblog said:
    January 7, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    Its good, glad I tried it once. In the future I would stick with a regular porter. Anchor, Founders and Great Lakes come to mind

    {V} said:
    January 7, 2014 at 4:25 pm

    That is disappointing. SBJ is one of the beers I’ve been dying to try. Guess I’ll have to find on draft on one of my adventures.

      Bierbattered responded:
      January 8, 2014 at 9:01 am

      Yeah if given the choice i would go that way or if you can get a single bottle from a shop.

Leave a Reply

