Belgian Stouts: Fan or Not? Am I missing something?

Posted on Updated on

https://i2.wp.com/greatbrewers.com/sites/default/files/images/Substyle%20-%20Specialty%20Stout.preview.jpg

The long commute to work today in this oppressively heavy fog had me thinking.

I admittedly love almost all things Belgian when it comes to beer.  Except for their Stouts.  they are not bad, but just not that interesting to me at best or in terms of the US made Belgian styled ones: hardly anything going on to note. Off hand I have had Dupont’s Monks Stout, Allagash Black, and Ommegang’s Take the Black & Art of Darkness (both aged and current years).

None were out-rightly bad, but still I was indifferent. Compared to say even these breweries Saison offerings, there just is nothing going on, and I love stouts.

While I would not never buy them again or anything, I am a tad wary of them.  How do you folks feel about them?  Are there any must tries you are in love with?

3 thoughts on “Belgian Stouts: Fan or Not? Am I missing something?

    Retail1LO said:
    January 15, 2014 at 9:04 am

    What is a Beligan?

    Frederik Vaassen said:
    January 15, 2014 at 9:46 am

    Well, the obvious names are the Black Damnation beers. Divine stouts, if you can find them. (It’s hard for us Belgians to find them at a reasonable price, can’t imagine what it’s like abroad. Though I hear they do export quite a bit.) Black Albert also has a good reputation, but for me personally, it can’t quite reach the level of a properly aged Coffee Club, for instance.
    Alvinne also makes a few (Mano Negra, Podge), but it’s seriously hard to top De Struise.

    We Belgians like it subtle, I guess. You’ll be hard pressed to find a really good IPA here, and it’s equally hard to find a good Imperial Stout. They exist, but in general, it’s just not “our thing”. I do think some of the aforementioned Black Damnations can rival foreign stouts, though, so definitely check them out if you can.

      Bierbattered responded:
      January 15, 2014 at 10:09 am

      thanks! I have never seen them around, Duponts was the only actual Belgian one i have found. I will keep looking for sure though!

Leave a Reply

