Dogfish Head Namaste – Quite Possibly my Summer Go to Beer

Posted on

https://i0.wp.com/beerstreetjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/Dogfish-Head-Namaste-12oz-960x609.jpg

It’s been a while since I did a straight up new beer review, so here goes.

Dogfish Head Namaste – I love it  not much more to say really.  It is crisp, fresh, refreshing, slightly tart –  ultimately enjoyable.   If I could get Hottenroth, and Saison Dupont in 12 oz bottles, they would be all I would want to drink all summer.

DFH lists it as a “Belgian-style White made with dried organic orange slices, fresh cut lemongrass and a bit of coriander. This beer will be a great summer quencher. Namaste was brewed with Leo from Birra del Borgo in Italy as a tribute to our friends at 3 Fonteinen brewery in Belgium, who recently had devastating production loss (1/3 of their annual production!) at their brewery.”

I originally was somewhat bummed that this was replacing what was quite possibly my favorite DFH offering: Raison d’etre. I will still miss it, but wow this is great.

I am not usually a wit fan, as they are usually too mellow even for me, but the coriander and  lemongrass add enough spice to keep it interesting, but not enough to make it more of a winter time or Bier De Mars thing.  I did not pick up on any orange but I will be trying it again for sure.  Super drinkable and comes in at 4.8% ABV.  It has been easier to find(NJ) as of the past few weeks, and is a bargain considering it can be found for around the $9.99 mark for a six-pack.

 

4 thoughts on “Dogfish Head Namaste – Quite Possibly my Summer Go to Beer

    mouldsbeerblog said:
    March 20, 2014 at 8:35 am

    I checked my Untappd and it surprised me that I’ve never checked into this beer. Maybe I had it pre-Untappd, who knows. Either way, it sounds pretty tasty, and I’m glad it is at the price point that it is. Will definitely be checking Namaste out!

      Bierbattered responded:
      March 20, 2014 at 10:32 am

      it was only limited releases and in 750 bottles before i think this is the first 12oz run for it?

        mouldsbeerblog said:
        March 20, 2014 at 11:39 am

        Yea I think so. I wasn’t going to pay $12 or $13 for 750mL of it, but I will gladly pay $10 for a 6 pack!

          Bierbattered responded:
          March 20, 2014 at 12:13 pm

          it is a very fair price. not like the paying about the same price for the 4 pack of Pils… I liked it better than Alagash’s White and Avery’s White Rascal so far. Have a bottle of Woody Creek Wit to give a go still though.

Leave a Reply

